Isla Rush: A brilliant season with Matrix

So, it was announced a few days ago that I’ll be riding for Isorex Ladies Team when I race in Belgium in 2017. After a brilliant season with Matrix Fitness, I have a huge list of people to thank for this whirlwind year on the bike.

So, it was announced a few days ago that I’ll be riding for Isorex Ladies Team when I race in Belgium in 2017. After a brilliant season with Matrix Fitness, I have a huge list of people to thank for this whirlwind year on the bike.

Firstly, Stef. Thank you so much for inviting me onto the team and giving me the opportunity to race with you. This year has been truly unforgettable and has given me so many opportunities for next season. I could not have asked for a better team around me and feel so incredibly lucky to have had the chance to be part of this family of cyclists.

Secondly, my incredible teammates. We’ve developed friendships to last a lifetime and supported one another throughout the year. I had the best time with them in Limoux and couldn’t have wished for greater company at races.

12512250_1707092036247246_2269006664069196763_n

Our amazing mechanic Caroline has played an enormous role this year. Being at nearly all of my races, you’ve been an absolute star. I was so well looked-after and had everything I could’ve possibly asked for. Additionally, thank you for being such a good friend through it all. It’s been a roller coaster of a year and you’ve been brilliant for the whole thing.

Thank you to everyone who looked after us whilst we were abroad: Chris Georgas, our host in Limoux; James Spragg and Margriet Kloppenburg who hosted me and Baz in Belgium; the Languedoc Roussillon team that we trained with in France. The list of people we met and helped us really is endless, but thanks to them we’ve had a brilliant season racing overseas.

Our sponsors this year have been brilliant- we loved our Trek bikes and our Milltag kit that made us look really smart. Furthermore, thanks to USN for our fantastic nutrition and to Bailey for our team motorhome- it was great! Cyclefit Manchester was a perfect location for our team launch and they tweaked our positions to make sure that we were both comfy and fast. Additionally, Corley Cycles were amazing in turning around our bikes so fast after they were delivered so that they could come to Limoux with us.

matrix-15

There are so many more people that deserve recognition for everything that they’ve done for us. Without them, our season wouldn’t have been anywhere near as successful as it was!

I am happy to announce that I’ll be racing for Isorex Ladies Team in Belgium next year. I’m excited to race abroad even more and gain more experience, as well as a few results along the way! I’ll be sad to leave such a wonderful team, but I am incredibly grateful for everything they’ve done for me this year. And as far as a UK team is concerned, well, watch this space.

Warmup