Alice goes Pro with Lares

So you’ll have seen the news that for 2017 I’ll be riding with Lares-Waowdeals. It’s with a heavy heart that I made the switch from Matrix Fitness after just one season however when the opportunity to ride for a European UCI team arose I felt I had to take the next step in my career.

So you’ll have seen the news that for 2017 I’ll be riding with Lares-Waowdeals. It’s with a heavy heart that I made the switch from Matrix Fitness after just one season however when the opportunity to ride for a European UCI team arose I felt I had to take the next step in my career.

Lares are based in Belgium and run by Marc Bracke. They were a new team in 2016, but Marc has a long history in the sport. I’m excited to race for Marc, and alongside established stars such as Thalita de Jong. With the potential for races in 2017 like Fleche Wallonne, Liege Bastogne Liege and Amstel Gold, it seems the ideal year for me to racing for a Belgian team and learning my trade in hilly classics.

Essex Giro (3).jpg

2016 was always set to be a challenging year for me; I hoped to combine finishing my Economics degrees alongside achieving some good results in UCI races. Deep down I thought I couldn’t achieve both and I definitely never envisaged exceeding my expectations but I did.

The support and opportunities offered by the Matrix Fitness team has enabled me to learn and develop as a rider and ultimately perform at a level I thought was a long way off. Despite that investment into my development, it was actually the team that initiated my move to a UCI team as they felt it was the obvious step and the right time for me. I cannot express enough gratitude for the vast amount of support I’ve received from everyone involved with the team from sponsors to Stef. I’ve had the backing of some great people who have been integral in my successes this year.

I’d like to wish the team and riders well for 2017 as they continue to provide the chance for riders to grow and achieve their potential.

CtS_-SdWAAADugG.jpg-large.jpeg