Carl Zach Cycling Classic

It’s not often you do more than two crit days in a row so I knew the third day would be hard with my body trying to adjust to doing crits day on day.

Harriet Owen report from Race 3 in the USA:

It’s not often you do more than two crit days in a row so I knew the third day would be hard with my body trying to adjust to doing crits day on day. Today was HOT, 33-34 degrees and there’s only so much ice you can put down your jersey before you start your race. Our game plan today was for me to wait for the sprint and for Kristen, Cynthia & Jen to try and get in the moves after 30 minutes.

Unfortunately, a break went in the first 5 minutes of racing today and the bunch did not want to bring it back. We all tried to try and bridge the gap throughout the race but we couldn’t get away so we had to settled for the sprint for 9th place. I didn’t feel great today, I think the heat really got to me today but managed to get 13th with my slow motion sprint. We will all learn from our mistakes today and come back stronger in the next 7 days.


RESULT

1 – Christina Gokey-Smith
2 – Laura Van Gilder
3 – Irena Ossola
4 – Laura Jorgensen
5 – Jennifer Sharp
6 – Lucy Bechel
7 – Kendelle Hodges
8 – Madison Kelly
9 – Peta Mullens
10 – Jessica Munday
13 – Harriet Owen