8th place – East Troy Cycling Classic

Today was my first race in America and my first race of the Tour of America’s Dairylands. I had no idea what to expect from the racing or myself so the nerves were pretty high going into the race.

 

Report from Harriet following race one of her USA trip:

Today was my first race in America and my first race of the Tour of America’s Dairylands. I had no idea what to expect from the racing or myself so the nerves were pretty high going into the race. Not only were the nerves high but the heat was also high at a sweltering 30 degrees, that made the racing even tougher than it already was and the tar was melting on the roads which also meant the corners felt like you were sliding.

Race 1 1111
East Troy Cycling Classic Course

 

So, the race set off pretty fast and it was a battle to hold your position at the front of the race, I tried to stay in the top 15 for the whole race as any further back felt a lot harder on the legs. There were a few cash primes early on and then a with 5 laps to go there was a $2500 prime, this meant it was lined out and full gas up into this and then the pace didn’t ease until the finish.

My positioning into this prime with 5 laps to go wasn’t great so that made it really tough to move up to the finish and I was annoyed with myself that I didn’t give myself too much of a chance to get involved in the final sprint as the final corner was 150m to go, meaning I could only roll in 8th place. I’m hoping for better things tomorrow!

Race 1 Stage 1

Brief Result

1 – Tina Pic
2 – Christina Gokey-Smith
3 – Peta Mullens
4 – Jessica Mundy
5 – Kristy Glover
6 – Irena Ossola
7 – Laura Van Gilder
8 – Harriet Owen
9 – Laura Jorgensen
10 – Kendelle Hodges