Lovelo Cinelli Road Race

Yesterday at the Lovelo Cinelli Road Race, based close to Leighton Buzzard, and the team came away with 2nd, 22nd and 30th, all finishing in the bunch sprint. In addition, Alice also came away with QoM!

Isla report from the Lovelo Road Race:

Yesterday at the Lovelo Cinelli Road Race, based close to Leighton Buzzard, and the team came away with 2nd, 22nd and 30th, all finishing in the bunch sprint. In addition, Alice also came away with QoM!

Lovelo Course.png
This was a new  race on the women’s calendar for 2017

I was really pleased with my race today for several reasons. We built upon last week’s team performance at Dave Peck, and I was able to communicate and work with Harriet and Alice and stay near the front of the group all race.  I had to put in some work when we missed a break of around 10 riders, but with some work it got brought back. All 3 of us from the team tried to attack at various points, but other teams weren’t letting anyone get away.

Fortunately, my positioning was pretty much spot on for the final lap, which is something I’m not usually great at! As the course was fairly flat, we knew it’d come down to a sprint.  Alice and I began our lead out from the bottom corner on the finishing straight, but unfortunately I became boxed in as I was on the left of two riders as an attack went up the right; Alice moved around me taking Harriet with her, who then came 2nd in the bunch sprint.

CfsTXFmWEAAXVGj
So close for Harriet – Photo: Huw Williams

I was really happy to finish in the first group of around 35 riders; other than becoming stuck just before the finish, I think the rest of the race went pretty well.
I’m hoping to take the confidence gained today and use it as Tour of the Reservoir next weekend!

Putting the race into numbers, you can see some stats from Harriet Strava file from her 2nd place performance:

Lovelo in numbers

 

Results:

1 – Sian Botteley
2 – Harriet Owen
3 – Adeline Moreau
4 – Alison Lilley
5 – Heather Rankin
22 – Alice Cobb
30 – Isla Rush

CfsasTyW4AEa_yn.jpg-large
Isla Rush – by John Orbea

CWx1ECtWcAEK9hY