Getting aero at Cyclefit with Molly Weaver

It’s rare that you’re in a situation where you can achieve such good visual feedback on this, and see how much of a difference seemingly small adjustments would make on the wind resistance

With wind resistance being a rider’s biggest enemy during a time trial, getting into the most aerodynamic position possible is crucial! Anything that means you can go faster for the same amount of pain is definitely worthwhile in my book! With the team being supported by Trek this season, we’re fortunate enough to be getting the incredible Speed Concept TT bikes, so we’re definitely onto a winner where bike aerodynamics are concerned. Now it’s all down to the setup of the bike and positioning. Enter the PrecisionFit team at Cyclefit!

ddddd1

Having never had a professional fit on a TT bike before, I was really excited to head down to Covent Garden and get my position perfected. Using the results from physical tests we’d done at my road bike fit, and the measurements gathered there, the rig was set up and we were good to go! After warming up a bit and relaxing into the position, the team set about tweaking each element of the fit; from saddle height, to the reach of the bike, and even the shape of the pads I’d be using. With visual feedback from recordings taken after each adjustment, along with how the position felt to me, we were able to get the balance between what was optimal for aerodynamics and what felt comfortable and sustainable!

img_3618

Once we were all happy with the setup of the bike, we spent a bit of time working on my body position. It’s rare that you’re in a situation where you can achieve such good visual feedback on this, and see how much of a difference seemingly small adjustments would make on the wind resistance. I really enjoyed this part, and seeing the difference between my position at the start and end of the session it was definitely worth it!

wwww

Thanks to the team at Cyclefit for their work. I’m sure I’ll be thanking them again in a few TT’s this season whilst thinking of those watts I’m saving!

Finally, a thank you to Dave Rayner Fund for supporting me during to 2015.

Sponsor Banner