First Overseas Signing for Matrix Fitness

With 5 riders of the 2015 roster announced already, Matrix FitnessVulpine are pleased to confirm it’s first overseas rider to the roster.  Christina Siggaard from Denmark will be joining the team with effect from 1 January and will be joined by returning rider Harriet Owen.

 

Christina, 20, brings with her a strong all-round ability that has seen her podium 3 times in Belgium this year as well as getting 2nd in the National road race championships.  “I’ve watched Christina a lot this season as she’s a rider that stands out; performance, positioning and results all come together with Christina and I think she’ll be equally comfortable getting results herself or being part of other riders success” commented team manager Stefan Wyman

 

Christina Siggaard
Christina Siggaard

 

Christina said, “I am really excited to be joining the Matrix Fitness team. The team set-up seems great, which gives me the chance to develop as a cyclist. Furthermore I’m looking forward to be having such experienced riders around me.”

Christina finished 9th on stage one of Tour of Ardeche, 18th overall in the Tour of Norway and 12th in the European TT Championships this season.  She’ll be part of the first winter training camp of the team in November as the team looks to make the step up to UCI level for 2015.

 

Joining Christina will be Harriet Owen in what will be her 3rd year with the team.  A former junior world championship medalist, Harriet has been one of the UK’s fastest finishers over the past few season and competed in the Women’s Tour in 2015.  “Harriet, like our other returning riders is hugely important to us.  We want these riders to have a long term, secure, and viable pathway in the sport.  Success at the top level doesn’t come overnight but we hope we can provide the support so riders like Harriet get the chance to take their talent to the top of the sport.  I have no doubts Harriet will be a UCI race winner in the coming seasons.” commented Wyman.

 

Harriet commented, “I’m really happy about staying with the team for next season.  For me I felt like I was ready to step up my level of racing and now the team has applied for UCI status it is perfect timing.  I’m even more motivated to get this winter right so I can play my part in the team having a successful first professional year.  I can’t wait.”

Harriet and Christin join Laura Trott, Molly Weaver, Jessie Walker, Mel Lowther and Lucy Martin on the 2015 roster.

 

Harriet Owen